I’d Like to Introduce You to James

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Okay, I’m bored and have absolutely nothing to do. No, I’m too awesome to post just one thing a day.
Plus, I have to make up for the all posts that got erased along with my previous blog. So here goes.

Let me explain how certain details we overlook are actually clues which are extremely helpful when it comes to discovering our former selves. In our lives, we are sometimes attached to things that seem pointless like a favorite number or favorite name. But have you ever stopped to ask yourself what makes one number so special or why you would favor a particular name over another? I’ll give you an example. I have always been pointlessly attached to the number 16. I just love it. It’s in my current username, my ex-blog’s username, my Skype account, and most of my passwords (don’t even think about it). While reading Oscar Wilde’s biography, I came across two interesting little facts:
1) Oscar Wilde was born on the 16th of October.
2) Oscar Wilde lived on No. 16 Tite street (trying desperately not to turn that into an innuendo).
Now I’m not suggesting I might have been Wilde in the past — funny pun, tehe —  but you have to admit, it is quite the comical little coinky-dink.
Here’s another. My whole life, I have had an odd obsession with the name “James”. There’s just something about it that really attracts me. It would suffice to say that most people I’ve ever admired have been James’s; James Marsden, James Marsters, James Patterson, et cetera, et cetera. I’ve named the male protagonist in my novel and in other short stories James. It wouldn’t be very shocking if I told you that I plan to name my son James after my husband, James. In the meantime, I make do with my pillow and a bottle of men’s cologne.
Other names I have always loved include William, Gabriel, and Cyrus (no, I do not like Miley Cyrus. I have my dignity to think of). Those names, however, do not strike the same note of admiration as “James” does.

What names catch your interest?

– The Sandman

Leave a Reply

